Is Venus out of this world for Boro?

26/10/2013 01:25

                                                 

It's the talk of football; who is going to take over at the Riverside? Its a question that has loads of answers.

'It's a sore subject at the moment, been some arguments over this. Off the top of my head though. Loads of divided opinion, some of the younger ones want Juninho or Ravinelli, but the ones, old enough to remember Mowbray playing, don't want another hero to be destroyed (like Mogga has been). Pulis was one everybody seemed to fancy at one time, but that seems to be cooling. Mickey Phelan is the one everybody seems to want at the moment, especially if he brings some other Man Utd backroom boys with him. O'Neill always gets a shout, but being in charge of the Mackems hasn't helped his cause. Mark Venus is getting a few fans after tonight. There was some support for Poyet and Clough but they've got jobs elsewhere. Souness and Di Canio are no goes, we hope.'

That was one fan's opinion but surely Venus has thrown himself in the hat for the job.

After Friday nights win here is who gaffer Mark Venus saw it

Just six eventful days after the low of defeat at basement side Barnsley, the boyhood Boro fan took charge of the team for the first time and oversaw a hugely-impressive 4-0 win over Doncaster Rovers. 

"Tonight was a dream - it doesn't get better than this," he said. "The fans turned out in force and the team produced for them - it was just a good night for the area. 

"Everyone was pretty nervous but the focus has been good and tonight the team gave a little bit back for everyone and it was about time." 

Venus, who had three days to work with the squad after Tony Mowbray's departure, made six changes to the side beaten at Oakwell as he signalled his intent from the start of his tenure. 

"I picked a team I thought could help and fortunately I got it right - if I hadn't got it right, questions would have been asked," he said. 

"But I think we deserved to win, everyone did their jobs and worked hard for each other and we created plenty of chances. "I was pleased with the defence. To keep a clean sheet was great and I thought Daniel Ayala was fantastic. 

"The team were lacking confidence but tonight should have given them a massive boost. I hope it did and I hope we can all grow together - the fans, the club and the players." 

A seasonal best crowd of 21,882 helped to produce an atmosphere that inspired the team to produce their best display of the season in front of a national TV audience. 

"Everyone's proud of the area they come from," said Venus. "I'm just pleased the team gave the supporters something to cheer about and I hope they come back. 

"I've enjoyed myself over the last three days. I feel a little bit numb but I'm really pleased for everyone. 

"Even though I'm elated there's obviously still a bit of sadness there. I wish the players could have put that performance on earlier but we need to keep carving results out and we have to work hard to do that.

Asked about his future, Venus said: "I'm here and looking after the team and delighted to be doing a job for the chairman. 

"I got the blessing of the last manager to do that and as long as they want me here I'll keep going."

                                                                               

Steve Gibson has been around football long enough to know what it takes to be a good Manager; next year he'll be twenty years in charge.

Will he go for a 'name'?

It's worked before but it hasn't worked for Tony Mowbray, a Boro lad!

Mr Gibson will have to let the wallet open for whoever comes in; sleeping giants can only sleep so long.

Its a big job and I hope the owner and chairman pick well; its a team with fantastic support and there is still time to climb up the table and head back to the promised land!

Written by Paul Moore, a football fan.