The call

16/11/2013 06:59

                                                                

It's almost every schoolchild's dream to represent their country at their national stadium and as a kid, I was no different. The dream of walking out onto the hallowed turf at Wembley Stadium in front of a crowd of thousands, head held high remained with me throughout my formative years. The dream was crushed when I realised that in reality, my footballing skills were far from good enough to even get me a place on the bench in my school team, and enthusiasm alone wouldn't warrant a call up to the England squad. With sadness and disappointment I accepted that I would have to be satisfied with watching others who were fortunate enough to be blessed with talent and who would fulfill their dreams.

However, years later, on June 4th 2011, my own dream came true! I was called upon to represent my country for the match against Switzerland at the home of football: Wembley Stadium. 

  Proud isn't the word for it! To top it all, two of my siblings were also selected meaning we would stand shoulder to shoulder: England had called us!

 Our family and friends couldn't have been more excited and supportive. Three Dovey's at Wembley!


 The night before the match, I hardly slept with excitement; this couldn't be real, could it? I was worried that I would wake up and it would all have been a fantastic dream. Then nerves kicked in: what if I wasn’t good enough? What if I didn't perform well? I'd let everyone down! I realised what a huge responsibility had been given to me and an opportunity that very few are trusted with.  I was determined to do my very best to live up to this honour.

 My feelings on match day vividly remain with me: catching my breath as the magnificent arch comes in to view, saluting in respect to Sir Bobby Moore before entering the glorious stadium that is Wembley.

      I recall feeling my heart beating faster and faster as I approached the changing rooms, and the adrenalin rush as I saw our kits hanging on their hooks. We changed in near silence, all of us deep in our own thoughts. My hands were shaking with anticipation as I tied up my boot laces, it felt like every inch of my body was being danced on by butterflies, nervous excitement was at it’s peak. One last swig of water before we began the long walk through the corridors to the tunnel and a group hug between sisters, before being led out to the near deafening cheers of the crowd.

Everyone was eager to meet us and have their photos taken with us, and then our big moment arrived as the announcer cried: ‘A big Wembley welcome to Roary,Mane and Paws … Our Three Lions furry mascots.’


 

 

The pride of being a Lion!!

 

Michelle Dovey