What's going on with Bendtner?

26/11/2013 10:33

                                       

When I was on the train earlier this week I overheard a couple of teenage lads talking about Arsenal and the forward line and where goals were coming from. 
When Bendtner's name came up they laughed and one said, 'Why do we have a Sunday league player playing for Arsenal?" None of them laughed, it was a serious question!
My initial thoughts were, 'that's a bit harsh unless the Sunday league has got a hell of a lot better!'
Since then the player hasn't helped himself as far as mickey taking is concerned, he says he'll be a leading scorer with Barcelona or Real Madrid. With respect the only time he'll be there is on holiday! 
This is a player that was on the verge of joining Crystal Palace but the plug was only pulled when Arsene Wenger realised he didn't have enough cover. 
Now every player has dreams and I'll say here and now that Bendtner will never play for either Spanish club; if he does I really will believe in the tooth fairy!
He can't seem to avoid trouble at the moment. 

 

'Premier League footballer Nicklas Bendtner today apologised after being arrested on suspicion of causing criminal damage at his luxury apartment block.

The 25-year-old Arsenal striker was held by police in Hertfordshire yesterday in connection with damage to an apartment building where he lives in the Bushey area.

Writing on his Instagram account today, he explained that he accidentally damaged a door as he tried to force it open after it became stuck.

"On Saturday night after our win against Southampton I went out with my family and friends for dinner," he wrote.

"After our dinner we all wanted a night swim in my gym so we changed to shorts and brought towels down.

"As we arrived at the gym my key fob changed the colour from red (locked) to green (open) but the door remained closed.

"We thought the door was stuck so we tried to open it and it caused some damage.

"I apologise for any inconvenience for my neighbours and I have paid in full.

"We had no part in damaging anything else in the building. The matter is closed with the police, and my focus is on tonight's match."

Police said Bendtner has been cautioned - meaning he will not be required to attend court.'

 

It would seem it was an accident but it won't help his reputation at all.

If Arsenal are serious about winning any silverware this season they have to bring in a player or players of a better quality than this Danish forward. In this day and age it's not only about the starting eleven but the strength of the entire squad. Gone are the days when players can be 'carried,' and that's exactly what the Gunners are doing with Bendtner.

Injuries are part of the game; if Arsenal pick up one or two I fear the strength in depth will seriously let them down. I bet January can't come soon enough for Arsene and his coaching staff.

Arsenal take on Marseille in the Champions League tonight in a game I fully expect them to win; maybe the man from Denmark could end up playing for the French side? Anything can happen in football and always expect the unexpected.

 

Written by Paul Moore, a football fan.